New mayor, newcomer and incumbent sworn in at Pittsboro's Monday meeting

Thanks for reading Chatham County’s leading news source! Making high quality community journalism isn’t free — please consider supporting our journalism by subscribing to the News + Record today.

Unlimited Digital Access begins at $4.67/month

Print + Digital begins at $6.58/month


PITTSBORO — New Pittsboro Commissioner James Vose and Mayor Cindy Perry were sworn in as members of the town’s governing board during a ceremony held prior to Monday’s regular meeting.

Vose won a four-year seat on the board in the November election by finishing second in a three-person race for commissioner and unseating 12-year board veteran Michael Fiocco. Pamela Baldwin, who finished first in that contest, was also sworn in Monday began her fifth consecutive term.

Perry, who served as mayor from 2015-19, then didn’t seek reelection, returns to that seat after defeating incumbent Jim Nass.

The ceremony took place at Forest Hall, inside Chatham Mills in Pittsboro, at 6 p.m.; the board recessed and began its regular session via Zoom at 7.

Nass opened the meeting following standard procedure — complete with the Pledge of Allegiance led by a local Girl Scout troop and a moment of silence.

Nass and Fiocco addressed the board before the swearing in of new commissioners, thanking residents for giving them the opportunity to serve.

“I want to thank the commissioners and staff of the town of Pittsboro for all of the support over the last few years,” Nass said. “It was a honor and privilege to serve the town during this period, so thank you.”

Fiocco — who served on the board of commissioners for three four-year terms — echoed Nass’ sentiments.

“I want to thank everyone for giving me the opportunity to serve Pittsboro,” he said. “It has been an honor, and I look forward to the work this new board does on behalf of the citizens.”

Fiocco and Nass were presented resolutions from the new board for their service to the town, and Town Manager Chris Kennedy gave the two outgoing officials an apple to represent the apple trees they’ll receive for their contributions to the town.

“We’re going to provide some of the Chatham County apple trees, and we’ll have a tree for each one of you as a memento and also as a symbol of your time as commissioner and mayor,” Kennedy said.

After the ceremony, Vose said the evening felt “surreal.”

“None of this was something I ever felt I was going to do,” he said. “I feel the weight of the responsibility, and I am ready for the challenge.”

Vose said he was ready to tackle the issues facing the Pittsboro community, including finding a way to better communicate with residents.

“I think we’re a bit remiss about the way we put out information as a town,” he said. “Not any one person, not any one thing, I just think it is something we can do better.”

Vose also said he wants to work toward finding a solution to the water quality issue in Pittsboro.

“Will it all be said and done in four years, no, but I’d really like to think four years from now we’ll be on the road to clean water and keeping it that way.”

Perry said she was looking forward to serving after being off the board for two years.

“It was wonderful to have friends and family with me to watch the installation and join in the celebration of my third term as mayor,” she said. “Pittsboro is such a special place and I am honored to have the confidence of our citizens moving forward.”

The board’s meeting

During the meeting that followed on Zoom, Baldwin was selected for another term as mayor pro tem.

“I appreciate the faith and trust you all have in me,” Baldwin said.

Other appointments made Monday included:

• Bank Signatories (alternates): Pamela Baldwin (alternate one) and Jay Farrell (alternate two)

• Triangle Area Rural Planning Organization (TARPO): James Vose

• Chatham County Economic Development Corporation (EDC), ex officio: Kyle Shipp

• Main Street Pittsboro (MSPBO): Kyle Shipp

• Triangle J Council of Governments (TJCOG): Pamela Baldwin (delegate) and John Bontiz (alternate)

• Chatham County Climate Change Committee: Cindy Perry and John Bonitz (alternate)

• Fairground Association: Pamela Baldwin

• Arts Council: James Vose

• Pittsboro Business Association (PBA): Jay Farrell

Reporter Taylor Heeden can be reached at


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here