Chatham@Work: Tina Stroupe, Town of Siler City’s Finance Director

Posted 1/17/20

When/where born, and where you live now: Born and raised in Sanford

Education: Graduated from Lee Senior in Sanford and Campbell University with a degree in Accounting

Occupation: Finance …

The News + Record is worth reading!

We’re all about Chatham County, and we welcome you to our site. You can view up to 3 stories each month, then registration is required.

Please sign in below if you have an account. If not, please register here to get an account and an additional 7 stories each month. It’s easy and takes just a minute.

Our staff works hard to bring good journalism, writing and story-telling to Chatham County. HELP US! You can get the News + Record mailed to you weekly by subscribing here.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Chatham@Work: Tina Stroupe, Town of Siler City’s Finance Director

Thanks for reading Chatham County’s leading news source! Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing to the News + Record – you can do so by clicking here.

Posted

When/where born, and where you live now: Born and raised in Sanford

Education: Graduated from Lee Senior in Sanford and Campbell University with a degree in Accounting

Occupation: Finance Director with the Town of Siler City. I’ve only been here for a little over two months and am enjoying my new role.

Family: I live in Sanford with my husband, Todd and have a stepson, Trevor, and two dogs, Lucy and Rascal. My parents are Mike and Debbie Brown.

What was your first paying job, and what did it teach you? I was a cashier/clerk for a video store in Sanford. I learned a lot about customer service and how to interact with the public.

What’s the most difficult job you’ve ever had? I worked in manufacturing and that is hard work.

What advice would you give someone considering doing the same line of work as you? Be prepared for constant changes and learn to be flexible.

Your standard order at a coffee shop? Caramel macchiato or just a plain coffee…depending on my mood.

Your ultimate “happy place”? Anywhere in the mountains.

Coke or Pepsi? Definitely Coke.

Where is your dream location to retire? Mountains

Favorite weekend getaway: Depending on the time of the year, in warm weather I want to be at the beach. If it’s fall, I want to be in the mountains.

Which do you like better: starting or finishing? Finishing. I can be a bit of a procrastinator so starting is a little harder but once I’m going I like to get things done as quickly as possible.

Life on other planets? Yes.

Stay up late or get up early? Get up early. I can get a lot done when in my early hours.

Does the early bird really get the worm? Absolutely.

On a snow day, you’d stay home and binge-watch: Grey’s Anatomy

Dogs or cats? Dogs.

Ever danced in the rain? Yes.

What habit would you most like to break? My addiction to lip balm.

What’s the best use of a snow day? Stay inside and just relax. I’m not a fan of the cold, wet stuff.

The trait you most deplore in yourself: Stubborness.

Your strongest trait: Determination.

Words or phrases you overuse: I’ve been told I say “literally” a lot.

What was the last thing you did that really made your boss proud of you? I just became certified as N.C. Local Government Finance Officer as of January 1st.

The book you’re currently reading: I just finished “Girl, Wash Your Face” by Rachel Hollis and and am starting “H3 Leadership” by Brad Lomenick.

The TV program that’s a “must-see” for you: “Grey’s Anatomy” and “A Million Little Things.”

How many hours per week do you spend online? Way too many.

What’s your favorite website? I love Pinterest.

If money weren’t an object, but you still had to work, what would your job be? I would help with animal rescues and so I could help find animals homes. I would like to think it would be a rewarding job.

What radio station do you listen to most frequently? Mostly podcasts or Pandora.

If you were ever to seek political office, you’d run for: State Treasurer.

One day, when you have time, what would you like to learn how to do? Play guitar.

What do you plan to do after retirement? Travel.

What’s been your wildest adventure? I’ve been skydiving and it was so fun. I would love to do it again.

Your ideal vacation would be: A secluded cabin in the mountains.

What’s your favorite snack food? Popsicles.

One food you’ll never be caught eating: I’m pretty open to trying new foods but never will I eat sardines.

Something not many people know you collect is? Wine glasses.

If you started a business of your own, what would it be? I’d love to open a restaurant or deli.

If someone made a movie about your life, the actor to portray you is: Sandra Bullock.

What you like best (or least) about where you live now: I love how it’s grown over the years.

Favorite place to eat: Panera.

The one material possession you can’t live without is: I love jewelry

The credo or motto you like to try to live by: Face your fears and do it anyway.

The best advice you ever got was: Life is too short to be unhappy.

If you had lots of money to give away, you’d give most of it to: Animal Rescue or homeless shelters.

Where would someone be most likely to find you on a Saturday night? On my couch watching a movie.

What was your dream job when you were a child? I wanted to be a teacher.

What would be your last meal? It would be something Italian or maybe Mexican.

If you were given $5,000 to donate to a non-profit organization, which would you pick – and why? It would be some animal rescue organization. It breaks my heart to see how some animals are so mistreated or how many don’t have loving homes.

What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had? When I fell down some stairs and broke a toe.

What would you like to know about the future? I don’t think I would want to know. Life is an adventure, full of surprises!

Would you go bungee jumping or skydiving? Definitely skydiving. It seems a lot safer.

Favorite kind of cookie? Snickerdoodle.

Favorite season? I love everything about fall.

Would you consider plastic surgery if someone else paid for it? Nope.

Biggest pet peeve? Being inconsiderate.

What’s your usual wake-up time in the morning? 4:30 a.m.

What talent do you wish you had? I wish I could sing.

Ever seen a ghost? No.

What superhero power would you most like to have? To be invisible.

What was your favorite TV show when you were growing up? As a teenager, I had to see Dawson’s Creek.

Favorite band or musical artist? Bon Jovi.

Favorite dessert? Anything chocolate.

What’s your favorite condiment? Mustard.

Do you have bumper stickers of any kind on your car? No.

If you could never hear the music of one musical artist ever again, which would it be? Michael Jackson.

If you could create one rule that all society had to live by, what would it be? Be kind. You never know what others are dealing with.

How do you define success? Doing something that makes you happy and fulfilled.

Describe your life philosophy in six words or less: Work hard and stay focused.

If you could instantly learn one language, which would it be? Italian. I need to be prepared when I make it there one day.

What advice would you give your younger self? Always be yourself and learn how to say no.

Would you rather explore outer space or the ocean floor? Ocean floor. I love the ocean.

What historic era would you like to visit? Victorian.

What’s the most important thing your job has taught you? There is always something new to learn and change is inevitable.

 

 

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Subscribe to The Chatham Brew now to get the latest news from Chatham County straight to your inbox.

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )