CCS schools select 2022-23 ‘Teachers of the Year’

Thanks for reading Chatham County’s leading news source! Making high quality community journalism isn’t free — please consider supporting our journalism by subscribing to the News + Record today.

Unlimited Digital Access begins at $4.67/month

Print + Digital begins at $6.58/month


PITTSBORO — Each of the schools in the Chatham County Schools district has chosen the 2022-23 Teacher of the Year.

The following were selected:

• Bennett School — Sarah Parsons

• Bonlee School — Janelle Tally

• Chatham Central High School — Cassadi Walden

• Chatham Grove Elementary — Brandy Varner

• Chatham Middle School — Michelle Maxfield

• Chatham School for Science and Engineering — Anna Blackwell

• George Moses Horton Middle School — Johnna Canipe

• J. S. Waters School — Stephanie Nipper

• Jordan-Matthews High School — Robert Palmer

• Margaret B. Pollard Middle School — Christine Bryant

• Moncure School — Brenton Winston

• North Chatham Elementary — Sarah Fisher

• Northwood High School — Edward Walgate

• Perry Harrison Elementary — Ellen Earixson

• Pittsboro Elementary School — Karen Jeremiah

• Seaforth High School — Heather Algiere

• Siler City Elementary School — Tracy Troxler

• Silk Hope School — Zachary Campbell

• Virginia Cross Elementary School — Jarrett Corder

Their selections are part of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year program.

The program strives to recognize and honor teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching, according to the N.C. Dept. of Public Instruction. Among other goals, it seeks to model best practices in teaching.

“We believe it is extremely important to spotlight the excellence in education taking place in Chatham County Schools,” said Superintendent Dr. Anthony Jackson. “We appreciate the dedication and innovation our educators bring to the classroom every day. These 19 teachers should be extremely proud of what they have accomplished, and I am thrilled to be able to publicly recognize them and their contributions to high-quality education.”


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here