CCCC’s Phi Theta Kappa holds induction ceremony

Thanks for reading Chatham County’s leading news source! Making high quality community journalism isn’t free — please consider supporting our journalism by subscribing to the News + Record today.

Unlimited Digital Access begins at $4.67/month

Print + Digital begins at $6.58/month


SANFORD — Academic achievement and service were celebrated April 12 as Central Carolina Community College’s Beta Sigma Phi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society held its spring induction ceremony.

Inductees from 2020-2022 were recognized during the ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized PTK as the official honor society for two-year colleges. The CCCC chapter, chartered in 2010, sets a higher standard for membership eligibility than the national organization: a 3.7 grade point average rather than the 3.5 GPA that national requires.

CCCC President Dr. Lisa M. Chapman provided opening remarks, praising PTK members for their accomplishments. She noted that PTK speaks to leadership and service.

“In today’s world, we need more servant leaders,” she said.

Honored guests Lenora Streeter, North Carolina Vice President of Phi Theta Kappa, and Philip White, Regional President of the Carolinas Region of Phi Theta Kappa, were present for the event held at the Dennis A. Wicker Civic & Conference Center.

“I want you to know that I believe in you,” White told the PTK members. “I believe in your strength. I believe in your potential to do literally whatever it is that you set your mind to.”

White concluded by telling the PTK members how proud he is of each of them.

“I am no different than you in that I am a student at a community college here in North Carolina,” he said. “I know just how much hard work it took to get here, so I want you to take a second tonight before you lay down to go to sleep and just say to yourself, ‘I am proud of you!’ You have earned it.”

Daniel Berndt, Chapter Advisor and Professor of Business Administration and Finance at CCCC, said: “Part of Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is to recognize the academic achievements of college students. Tonight, I am blessed with the opportunity of doing just that — recognizing the hard work, resilience, and determination of students here at Central Carolina Community College. Phi Theta Kappa also provides opportunities for personal growth and professional development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship activities. My hope is for new inductees to take advantage of these and several other benefits of membership as they continue to grow into the leaders of tomorrow. I also want to thank the administration, faculty, and staff of Central Carolina Community College and our local communities whose continued support gives our members the fullest experience Phi Theta Kappa has to offer; it wouldn’t be possible without you.”

Berndt and fellow Chapter Advisor James Thomas, YouthBuild Assistant Director, participated in the induction ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa is composed of Greek words symbolizing wisdom, aspiration, and purity. A white rose symbolizes purity, beauty of life, and intellectual associations, while the oak and laurel leaves on the PTK emblem represent stability, character, achievement, and success.

CCCC Phi Theta Kappa officers include Thomas, Chapter President; Raven Elder, Vice President of Service & Honors Activities; Jacqueline Tamayao, Vice President of Leadership & Scholarship; Bennett Lasater, Vice President of Fellowship & Recruitment; Cassidy Henderson, Public Relations Officer; and Isaac Alvarez Alvarado, Recording Officer.

In its years of existence, the college’s Beta Sigma Phi Chapter has garnered a number of prestigious recognitions from PTK. These include the Five-Star ranking — the highest ranking a chapter can receive for excellence, and awards at regional PTK conferences. It has also reached out to the community with service projects, such as assisting food banks and shelters.

The 2022 Chatham County inductees are Kaylee Atkins, Andraya Church, Harrison Fogleman, Madison Gaines, Juana Gomez Soriano, Jacob Hartman, Lindsey Johnson, Caitlyn Keith, Solveig Lee, Amanda Merriman, Lillian Milholen, Elliana Morgart, Kristiane Perry, Dylan Philipps, Rilee Rains, James Roberton, Emily Smith, Sherry Sparks, Paige Underwood, Ella Webster, and Olivia Wight.

The 2021 Chatham County inductees are Joseph Carreiro, Holley Clark, Brooklyn Craig, Kelsey Dillon, Ruben Esquivel, Ava Mae Gangemi, Abigail George, Michael Hubbard, Elyse Johnson, Grace Jones, James Keith, Joshua King, Vincent Kressevich, Sarah Lawter, Patrick McCaw, Colin McDaniel, Chadwick Moore, Heidi Schouten, Katherine Skeen, Kayleigh Smith, Amelia Spell, and Leslie Wiseman.

The 2020 Chatham County inductees are Mary Adams, Scott Bratcher, Miranda Butler, Logan Dumke, Makayla Gangemi, Melanie Mather, Isabelle Moore, Hannah Murphy, Miguel Olivares, Linda Richardson, Margaret Safrit, Jayden Sansom, Roger Seufert-Navarro, and Sarah Walters.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here