Chatham@Work: Victoria Brewer, N.C. Cooperative Extension, Chatham County Center

Posted 5/31/19

A native of North Carolina, Brewer lives in northwest Chatham County and works as the 4-H Youth Development Extension Agent for Chatham’s N.C. Cooperative Extension.

The News + Record is worth reading!

We’re all about Chatham County, and we welcome you to our site. You can view up to 3 stories each month, then registration is required.

Please sign in below if you have an account. If not, please register here to get an account. It’s easy and takes just a minute.

Our staff works hard to bring good journalism, writing and story-telling to Chatham County. HELP US! You can get the News + Record mailed to you weekly by subscribing here.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Chatham@Work: Victoria Brewer, N.C. Cooperative Extension, Chatham County Center

Thanks for reading Chatham County’s leading news source! Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing to the News + Record – you can do so by clicking here.

Posted

About Victoria Brewer: A native of North Carolina, Brewer lives in northwest Chatham County and works as the 4-H Youth Development Extension Agent for Chatham’s N.C. Cooperative Extension. A graduate of School of Science and Mathematics in Durham and N.C.State, Brewer is working toward a master’s degree at N.C. State. Brewer started working at the extension service several years ago as an administrative assistant, but was promoted to her current position in April.

“I get to do what I love,” she says. “As a 4-H Extension Agent, I am able to positively impact my community in areas that I feel strongly about. Becoming a 4-H Extension Agent was a dream come true.”

Brewer and her husband Nathan, who works as a Senior Master Technician at Welford Harris Ford, have been together for 13 years. They have two miniature dachshunds, Nestle and Laci, one farm cat, Rocky, and 16 chickens.

What’s the most difficult job you’ve ever had?

The most difficult job I’ve ever had was being a nanny. When you are a nanny, you spend the entire day with children. There are no breaks, no alone time, and your workday doesn’t end until you have someone to take over childcare responsibilities. In addition to childcare, you are responsible for keeping someone else’s house cleaned and organized.

Craziest or most unusual thing that’s ever happened to you at your current job?

Three weeks after I started at the Chatham County Cooperative Extension office, I got to care for chicks, from our 4-H Embryology Project, in my office while our 4-H Program Assistant picked-up additional birds. As a chicken mama, I was so excited and thrilled to have the opportunity to play with chicks at work.

Your ultimate “happy place?”

Being at home.

Which do you like better: starting or finishing?

Definitely finishing.

Stay up late or get up early?

Get up early.

On a snow day, you’d stay home and binge-watch:

Game of Thrones

Ever danced in the rain?

Yes!

What habit would you most like to break?

Eating when I am bored.

What’s the best use of a snow day?

The best use of a snowy day is spending it at home. It would include lounging around the house, and playing outside with my husband. We have the perfect driveway for sledding!

What is the most significant of your life’s goals that you haven’t yet accomplished?

To build my dream house and have a farm. Currently, I have chickens and a garden, but I would like to add some beehives, goats and/or beef cattle.

What makes your home special?

My husband and animals.

Words or phrases you overuse:

I love to overuse the word “awesome!”

If you were ever to seek political office, you’d run for:

County Commissioner.

What do you plan to do after retirement?

Travel and volunteer.

Your ideal vacation would be:

A staycation.

What’s your favorite snack food?

Garlic-stuffed olives.

What do you like best about where you live now?

I love living in the middle of the woods, surrounded by nature. On any given day, I can hear or see barred owls, coyotes, hawks, deer, turkeys, blue herons, geese, rabbits, ducks and foxes. We even saw a bobcat on one of our cameras.

Is there a hobby you can’t live without?

Disc Golf.

Where would someone be most likely to find you on a Saturday night?

My favorite place, home.

What would be your last meal?

Definitely sushi.

Would you go bungee jumping or skydiving?

Skydiving is on my bucket list.

Did you have a childhood nickname?

Yes, I had two childhood nicknames — Tornado Tora and Biscuit.

Favorite season?

Fall.

Biggest pet peeve?

Lazy people.

What superhero power would you most like to have?

Flying.

What was your favorite TV show when you were growing up?

“Family Matters” and “Full House.”

Favorite band or musical artist?

Chris Stapleton

What’s your favorite condiment?

Mayonnaise

How do you define success?

Never giving up on the things you want to accomplish, even if you fail at first.

Describe your life philosophy in six words or less:

Decisions determine the future. Choose wisely.

If you could instantly learn one language, which would it be?

Spanish

What advice would you give your younger self?

Be patient

Would you rather explore outer space or the ocean floor?

Ocean floor

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment